Statement of Significance - Church of the Good Sheperd

· South Pender Island · Miscellaneous · 2018

Original Trust document · 4,354 KB · SHA-256 91f2b6101656c328…

10,648 characters of machine-extracted text. Extraction is automatic and can be wrong; the original governs.

Topics: Marine & foreshore · First Nations & reconciliation — our classification, not the Trust's.

Extracted text (beginning)

Statement of Significance
Location: 8978 Gowlland Point Road, South Pender Island, British Columbia
Date of Construction: 1937/38
Date added to Community Heritage Register: June 12, 2018
Church of the Good Shepherd
South elevation of Church of the Good Shepherd showing gable entryway.

Description of the Historic Place 
The Church of the Good Shepherd is a simple, wood-frame building nestled in a grove of mature trees near Bedwell 
Harbour on South Pender Island, British Columbia. The historic place includes the church building with its window 
depicting a shepherd holding a lamb, the small cabin, the memorial garden, the service schedule sign and an oak 
tree planted at the time of church construction.  
The Church of the Good Shepherd is of historic, aesthetic, spiritual, social, and cultural value to the community of 
South Pender Island.
The church building has historical significance to South Pender Island as a symbol of the community spirit on the 
island at the time of the building of the church.  Early residents of the island donated time and resources to its 
development and their descendants and new arrivals to the island ensured the continued existence of the church 
as a community space.
The stained glass window above the altar was crafted in the 
1860s and installed at the time of church construction. 
Heritage Value
1

1938        On Sept. 24, the first wedding in the church is performed, Elizabeth (Betty) Hodgson, of Bedwell 
Harbour, marries Cyril Andrews, of Victoria.
1940s       The “Prophet’s Chamber” is built behind the church for the minister’s use on service days, and/or 
for overnight accommodation when necessary.
1944        Canon Harold George King performs double-baptism of two infant boys of the Teece family. 
1950        Church pews are built and installed, using lumber purchased with the proceeds ($250) of a fund-
raising event held at Port Washington Hall by Winifred Spalding and Marie Craddock.
1954        In the summer, naval cadets at Bedwell Harbour make improvements to the church building. 
1961    The church is wired for electricity, and the interior walls are finished.
1969        On November 16, a new altar rail is dedicated in memory of Bishop Coleman; George Campbell 
made the rail from a red cedar tree donated by Herbert Spalding.
1976    The oak tree from the Windsor acorn planted in 1937 is designated as a “Heritage Tree.”
1982        A new altar is placed in the church in memory of Marie Craddock, donated by her daughter,  
Victoria Gillespie.
1983        The Memorial Garden is designed and created by Ted Madeley and Marjorie Bailey, for the inter-
ment of ashes of deceased parishioners and their loved ones.
1985        A plaque is dedicated to the memory of Gerry and Tessie Parkyn; Gerry Parkyn (d. 1984) was 
instrumental in the planning, design, and construction of the church in 1937-38.
1988        A picnic is held in May at the home of Jiggs and Derek Christy to commemorate the 50th anniver-
sary of

First 3,000 characters. Open the original for the whole document.

Nearby in South Pender Island

Browse the archive

Archive index · Full-text search · All South Pender Island records · All Miscellaneous